feral research: co-present film festival 16, schedule

The sixteenth session of the Co-Present Film Festival, the co-watching of films on prisons real and imagined, will take place on Sunday, October 30. See the post for the first film festival in 2013 here, and session 15 here.

Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. We’ll primarily communicate via the backchannel. If you choose, communicate through the #CPFF16 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock.

We’ll watch following the below schedule:

BEGIN 730am PHX / 1030am NYC / 330pm LDN / 430pm CET / 630pm GST

WINGS OF DESIRE
One sentence summary:
In late 1980s Berlin, Bruno Ganz falls in love with a trapeze artist and decides to turn in his wings.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
A short summary/review by A.O. Scott of the NYTimes:

approx. 940am PHX / 1240pm NYC / 540pm LDN / 640pm CET / 840pm GST – BREAK

945am PHX / 1245pm NYC / 545pm LDN / 645pm CET / 845pm GST

THRONE OF BLOOD
One sentence summary:
Kurosawa rewrites Macbeth for feudal Japan, employs arrows to scare the hell out of Toshiro Mifune, includes one of the creepiest Lady Macbeths on film.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 1140am PHX / 240pm NYC / 740pm LDN / 840pm CET / 1040pm GST – BREAK

12pm PHX / 3pm NYC / 8pm LDN / 9pm CET / 11pm GST

ALPHAVILLE
One sentence summary:
A mid-century modernist city seen through a 1965 science fiction noir lens.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 140pm PHX / 440pm NYC / 940pm LDN / 1040pm CET / 1240am GST – BREAK

145pm PHX / 445pm NYC / 945pm LDN / 1045pm CET / 1245am GST

THE NIGHT OF THE HUNTER
One sentence summary:
Robert Mitchum terrorizes children as a reverend turned killer thief.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 315pm MST / 615pm EST / 1115pm GMT / 1215am CET / 215am GST – END

feral research: co-present film festival 15, schedule

The fifteenth session of the Co-Present Film Festival, the co-watching of films on prisons real and imagined, will take place on Sunday, September 25. We’re returning to our earlier format of 4 films for this one. See the post for the first film festival in 2013 here, and the last one here.

Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. We’ll primarily communicate via the backchannel. If you choose, communicate through the #CPFF15 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock.

We’ll watch following the below schedule:

BEGIN 730am PHX / 1030am NYC / 330pm LDN / 430pm CET / 630pm GST

THE ASSASSIN
One sentence summary:
A young female assassin must kill a political leader in eighth-century China.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link

Trailer:

approx. 915am PHX / 1215pm NYC / 515pm LDN / 615pm CET / 815pm GST – BREAK

930am PHX / 1230pm NYC / 530pm LDN / 630pm CET / 830pm GST

BENJAMIN SMOKE
One sentence summary:
An extraordinary documentary, created over the course of 10 years, features the life of Benjamin (lead singer of the band Smoke).
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Find a copy of it online here.
Trailer:

approx. 1045am PHX / 145pm NYC / 645pm LDN / 745pm CET / 945pm GST – BREAK

11am PHX / 2pm NYC / 7pm LDN / 8pm CET / 10pm GST

LA HAINE
One sentence summary:
Three young men, of three different racial backgrounds, find their way through 19 hours in Paris.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 1245pm PHX / 345pm NYC / 845pm LDN / 945pm CET / 1145pm GST – BREAK

1pm PHX / 4pm NYC / 9pm LDN / 10pm CET / 12am GST

BRUTE FORCE
One sentence summary:
The American prison system, as portrayed by 1947 melodramatic film noir.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 240pm MST / 540pm EST / 1040pm GMT / 1140pm CET / 140am GST – END

Co-Present Film Festival: Prisons Real and Imagined / films watched, 1-14

1: June 2013
Into the Abyss
Escape from New York
Tokyo Drifter
We Live in Public

2: July 2013
Mark of Cain
Battle Royale
The Dark Crystal
The Thin Blue Line

3: August 2013
Ali Fear Eats the Soul
Cool Hand Luke
Oldboy
Dark City

4: September 2013
(Mamoru Oshii-a-thon)
Ghost in the Shell
Avalon
Assault Girls
Sky Crawlers

5: October 2013
Standard Operating Procedure
City of Lost Children
Bronson
The Man Who Fell to Earth

6: November 2013
The Lives of Others
Brazil
Into Great Silence

7: December 2013
(the West Memphis Three)
Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills
Paradise Lost 2: Revelations
Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory
West of Memphis

8: January 2014
Sleepers
Birdman of Alcatraz
The Island

9: February 2014
The Manchurian Candidate (1962)
The Manchurian Candidate (2004)

10: July 2014
George Washington
Velvet Goldmine
Nights of Cabiria

11: September 2014
RoboCop (1987)
RoboCop (2014)

12: February 2015
M
Snabba Cash (Easy Money)
The Central Park 5

13: December 2015
The Life of Oharu
Predestination
Mentor

14: August 2016
La Jetée
12 Monkeys