feral research: co-present film festival 16, schedule

The sixteenth session of the Co-Present Film Festival, the co-watching of films on prisons real and imagined, will take place on Sunday, October 30. See the post for the first film festival in 2013 here, and session 15 here.

Watch with us from anywhere in the world at any time throughout the run. Watch on your own. We’ll primarily communicate via the backchannel. If you choose, communicate through the #CPFF16 hashtag on Twitter. We’ll sync our clocks just before the first start time by using the World Clock.

We’ll watch following the below schedule:

BEGIN 730am PHX / 1030am NYC / 330pm LDN / 430pm CET / 630pm GST

WINGS OF DESIRE
One sentence summary:
In late 1980s Berlin, Bruno Ganz falls in love with a trapeze artist and decides to turn in his wings.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
A short summary/review by A.O. Scott of the NYTimes:

approx. 940am PHX / 1240pm NYC / 540pm LDN / 640pm CET / 840pm GST – BREAK

945am PHX / 1245pm NYC / 545pm LDN / 645pm CET / 845pm GST

THRONE OF BLOOD
One sentence summary:
Kurosawa rewrites Macbeth for feudal Japan, employs arrows to scare the hell out of Toshiro Mifune, includes one of the creepiest Lady Macbeths on film.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 1140am PHX / 240pm NYC / 740pm LDN / 840pm CET / 1040pm GST – BREAK

12pm PHX / 3pm NYC / 8pm LDN / 9pm CET / 11pm GST

ALPHAVILLE
One sentence summary:
A mid-century modernist city seen through a 1965 science fiction noir lens.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 140pm PHX / 440pm NYC / 940pm LDN / 1040pm CET / 1240am GST – BREAK

145pm PHX / 445pm NYC / 945pm LDN / 1045pm CET / 1245am GST

THE NIGHT OF THE HUNTER
One sentence summary:
Robert Mitchum terrorizes children as a reverend turned killer thief.
IMDB Link
Wikipedia Link
Trailer:

approx. 315pm MST / 615pm EST / 1115pm GMT / 1215am CET / 215am GST – END